top of page

Ten Fort Bend ISD Students Awarded National Merit Scholarships

(FORT BEND ISD) – Ten Fort Bend ISD students have been awarded 2023 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. FBISD’s National Merit Scholars include:

Clements High School

  • Akaash Kolluri

  • Anna Lin

  • John Tian

  • David Zhang

Dulles High School

  • Sahil Chowdhury

  • Ved Ganesh

  • Kyler Mitra

  • Neil Nimmagadda

Elkins High School

  • Vishaka Bhora

  • Kareena Kamal

The students are among only 2,500 Merit Scholars chosen from across the country, out of more than 15,000 finalists named for this school year. Merit Scholars are selected by college admissions officers and high school counselors for their strong combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Those chosen as Merit Scholars now receive a total of nearly $28 million in college scholarships.

In October 2021, high school juniors across the United States took the PSAT/NMSQT, which served as the initial screen of entrants to the National Merit Scholarship Competition. In the fall of 2022, the highest-scoring seniors in each state were named Semifinalists. From this group of less than one percent of the nation’s seniors, Finalists were chosen for meeting the very high academic standards and other requirements set by the competition.


bottom of page