top of page

Ten FBISD Schools Earn State Awards for Excellence in Counseling

(FORT BEND ISD) – The counseling programs at ten Fort Bend ISD schools have been named winners of the Counselors Reinforcing Excellence for Students in Texas Award for Counseling Excellence for 2022-23, by the Texas School Counselor Association. Winners represent only a fraction of the counseling programs at public schools from across the state.

This year’s FBISD winners include:

Cornerstone Elementary Missy Masters

Dulles Middle School Ailynne Abarado, Diana Chong, Michelle Garoni and Vicky Smith

Fleming ElementaryDestiny Parker

Fort Settlement Middle SchoolMarla Angibeau, Stefanie Armatta and Kristin Kendrick

Lake Olympia Middle SchoolTammy Byrd, Constance Goodly and Tiffani Spencer

Mission West ElementaryKaren Powell

Missouri City Middle School Shandra Shaver, Shanese Sly and Valerie Vaughn-Victorian

Sartartia Middle SchoolKatherine Friedel, Amy Melby and Tanya Johnson

Settlers Way Elementary Emily Loesch

Sugar Land Middle SchoolNafecia Brinson, Kimberly Seright and Eleni Smith

The CREST award is given to school counseling programs that are “committed to using the state model to improve the lives and academic, career and social achievement of students.” Through evaluation, counselors are able to gauge the effectiveness of their programs in five categories:

  • Introduction to the school and the role of the professional school counselor

  • Program implementation cycle

  • Foundation components

  • Four service delivery components

  • Program curriculum

The Texas School Counselor Association is a division of the Texas Counseling Association and supports professional school counselors by "advocating for and advancing the role of the professional school counselor and the comprehensive school guidance and counseling programs through Texas." Visit to learn more.


bottom of page