top of page

School Board Elections Marked by Conservative Victories

(FORT BEND COUNTY) – Local school board races were determined on Election Day, Saturday, May 6, and the result was a dramatic victory for conservatives. In nine races spanning Katy ISD, Lamar Consolidated ISD, and Fort Bend ISD, conservatives were victorious in seven positions.

“Voters across Fort Bend County made a clear statement regarding the conservative policies that they expect from school board members,” said Fort Bend County Republican Party Chairman Bobby Eberle. “Voters overwhelming chose the candidates who will bring conservative values of fiscal responsibility, parental involvement, and educational basics over indoctrination”

In Katy ISD, conservatives Amy Thieme, Morgan Calhoun, and Mary Ellen Cuzela were victorious for school board positions 3, 4, and 5 respectively. In Lamar CISD, incumbent school board member Jon Welch won in District 5. New comers Jacci Hotzel and Suzanne Box were victorious in Districts 4 and 7, with Box defeating incumbent board president Alex Hunt. In Fort Bend ISD, Sonya Jones claimed victory by garnering nearly 40 percent of the vote in a five-person race for position 5.

“It is more important than ever to be involved in what’s happening with our children’s education,” Eberle added. “Woke policies and the divisive rhetoric of the left were firmly rejected. I congratulate all these great candidates for their hard work and dedication to children, parents, and quality education.”


bottom of page