top of page

Lamar CISD Celebrates Trustees During School Board Recognition Month

(ROSENBERG) - January has been declared School Board Recognition Month by Governor Abbott and the Texas Association of School Boards. Lamar CISD is joining the celebration to highlight all seven trustees.

The theme of the year is “Forward, Together,” which highlights the collaboration among school leadership, teachers, and parents on behalf of students. School board members serve as a link between the community and the classroom, and they are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public school education.

“I am very proud to work with a board that loves our kids and this community the way they do,” said Lamar CISD Superintendent Roosevelt Nivens. "Our board is truly one of a kind. The many hours that they volunteer to serve our district has made Lamar CISD a destination district for families in Texas.”

The Lamar CISD Board of Trustees is responsible for an annual budget of $376 million, more than 42,000 students, more than 5,000 employees, and more than 50 campuses and facilities.

During this current board's tenure, Lamar CISD passed a historic bond valued at $1.5 billion, and received a post-pandemic A-rating according to criteria set by the Texas Education Agency. Additionally, for a 22nd consecutive year, the Association of School Business Officials International awarded the Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting, which recognizes the district for outstanding financial reporting and fiscal management.

Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public schoolchildren in their care.

“Texas school boards are critical to the success of students and the future of Texas,” said Troxell. “Boards lead their districts in the right direction, providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their local schools and communities.”

Board members serving Lamar CISD are:

  • Alex Hunt (District 7) – President

  • Joy Williams (District 4) – Vice-President

  • Zach Lambert (District 1) – Secretary

  • Mandi Bronsell (District 3) – Member

  • Kay Danziger (District 2) – Member

  • Joe Hubenak (District 6) – Member

  • Jon Welch (District 5) – Member

To learn more about all board members, visit


bottom of page