top of page

Katy ISD Counselors Receive CREST Award from Texas School Counselor Association

(KATY ISD) – The Katy Independent School District has announced that the counselors at Morton Ranch Junior High and Robertson Elementary have earned the Counselors Reinforcing Excellence for Students in Texas Award for the 2023-2024 school year. This award is given out by the Texas School Counseling Association which began the CREST program in 2005.

Shayla Tillery, Erin McGee and Shireen Abughazaleh, counseling team at Morton Ranch Junior High.

The CREST program is designed to acknowledge schools that “exhibit a strong commitment to enhancing students' lives and achievements across academic, career, and personal-social domains,” following the Texas Model. The CREST Award serves as a continuous improvement document, allowing school counseling programs to showcase effective communication and a dedicated pursuit of positive outcomes.

By evaluating their programs in five key categories, counselors can demonstrate the effectiveness of their guidance and counseling initiatives. The five categories evaluated by CREST are:

  • Introduction to the School and the Role of the Professional School Counselor

  • Program Implementation Cycle

  • Foundational Components

  • Four Service Delivery Components

  • Program Curriculum

The dedicated counselors at Morton Ranch Junior High and Robertson Elementary prepared a comprehensive digital submission that highlighted their efforts in each of these areas. This submission was rigorously judged by reviewers throughout the state of Texas based on pre-set standards of excellence.

"We are immensely proud of the counselors from Morton Ranch Junior High and Robertson Elementary for achieving the CREST Award. This recognition reflects their unwavering commitment to the success and well-being of our students," said Ronnie Edwards, Assistant Superintendent at Katy ISD. "Their dedication to continuous improvement, effective communication, and adherence to the Texas Model is truly commendable and sets a benchmark for counseling programs across the state.”

The winners will be recognized during the annual TSCA conference in San Antonio in February 2024.



bottom of page