top of page

Eighty-Two Fort Bend ISD Students named 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists

(FORT BEND ISD) – A total of 82 Fort Bend ISD high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program, making FBISD the district with more semifinalists than any other school system in the region.

“This achievement is evidence of the excellence that exists in Fort Bend ISD and it’s a testament to the amazing teachers who instruct, train, nurture and mentor our children,” FBISD Superintendent Dr. Christie Whitbeck said. “This is one of the reasons our district continues to be a ‘Destination District’ where parents are drawn to live, work and raise their families. The community support our district enjoys is outstanding and we greatly appreciate it.”

Fort Bend ISD students are among 16,000 semifinalists in the 69th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented students have an opportunity to continue in the competition and win one of three types of National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million combined. The awards will be announced beginning next April through July 2024.

Merit scholars are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The scholars are students who score in the top one percent in the nation on their college entrance exams.

High school juniors entered the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The semifinalists represent less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors.

To become a finalist, each semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Here are Fort Bend ISD’s 2024 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Austin High School

  • Anusha Adusumilli

  • Margaret Jia

  • Aashi S. Kasotia

  • Ahmed A. Kazi

  • Chloe Y. Lee

  • Mahika P. Natarajan

  • Pia Saha

  • Jessica A. Smith

  • Alexander R. Wang

  • Andy Y. Wei

  • Ziduo Yi

  • Ryan Yuan

Clements High School

  • Enoch Y. Amat

  • Aryan D. Arora

  • Aryan Bora

  • Aaron W. Chen

  • David W. Chen

  • Anne M. Christiono

  • Anthony Du

  • Qimiao Gong

  • Rohan Gummadi

  • Nischay Hegde

  • Wenda Huang

  • Adam Hwang

  • Alexander Y. Jun

  • Ruhi Kelkar

  • Anurag R. Kumar

  • Tina Li

  • Om H. Patel

  • Paloma Pichardo

  • Ruchika A. Sanghi

  • Rianna R. Skaria

  • Alexander M. Song

  • Kavya M. Vaidyanathan

  • Joshua M. Wan

  • Emma V. Wang

  • Hanyi Wu

  • Viola R. Xu

  • Leo Y. Zhang

  • William C. Zuo

Dulles High School

  • Anushka Aggarwal

  • Anantshri N. Asthana

  • Isaac N. Chacko

  • Akhila R. Chikkula

  • Jeffrey B. Copold

  • Maria Elahi

  • Brionna Grapeson

  • Saikrishna K. Gundlapalli

  • Juliana F. Horiszny

  • Pablo J. Jonsson

  • Tran T. Lam

  • Boping Li

  • Justin J. Li

  • Caleb A. Lin

  • Benjamin Tri M. Nguyen

  • Jayani Pradhan

  • Iana M. Sajith

  • Ronil M. Shah

  • Allen A. Thomas

  • Dan D. Tran

  • Aishwaryaa H. Udeshi

  • Jason A. Wu

  • Maggie Y. Yuan

Elkins High School

  • Alina R. Ali

  • Jie Dai

  • Nnamdi J. Ilochonwu

  • Darena D. Nguyen

  • Carson W. Padilla

  • Brendan P. Ryan

  • Dev B. Shroff

  • Kelly Yin

Hightower High School

  • Arshi M. Maniar

  • Mhyank S. Sekhar

  • Eric J. Thekkel

Kempner High School

  • Jai R. Pillai

Ridge Point High School

  • Christian L. Devenish

  • Zachary L. Mok

  • Travis High School

  • Evan Chang

  • Rohan T. Dharia

  • Crystal J. Fu

  • Haider Mahdi

  • Ayaan Sunesara


bottom of page